

# RASCOE OF South Dakota 2021 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

# **Thursday, May 13, 2021**

Attending: President Becky Zirpel, Vice President Larry Olson, Secretary-Treasurer Lynda Steichen, Al Dangel, Bev & Russ Birkeland, Charlene Lolley, Cindy Mengenhauser, Gail Tennant, Gene & Shirlee Vognild, Jamie & Jerry King, Jim Iverson, Jim Zirpel, Linda Weischedel, Lori Jones, Beth & Max Wolf, Nancy Morrow, Rhonda Deutsch, Sherry Ternes. Guests: Chuck Land, Dianne Zentner, Kerry Smith, Pauline Everson, and Sue Wiley.

1:40 PM Delegation for Fort Wayne Indiana Convention team provided update about Convention dates, times, and activities. Convention dates are Wednesday, August 4 through Saturday, August 7. Registration is open. Advance registration available until June 15.

2:00 PM Chuck Land, WY National RASCOE Vice President, reviewed HR-304 Equal Cola and HR 2337 Review of GPO & WEP has 146 co-sponsors. All legislation needs more co-sponsors. RASCOE hopes livestream RASCOE Meeting during NASCOE Convention. Chuck request South Dakota and Northwest Area to support him for President. Becky Zirpel has announced her bid for the Vice President position. Florida State has disbanded their RASCOE association and move their funds to the RASCOE General Fund. Three members including Larry Olsen served on the committee to review the RASCOE Constitution and By-Laws. RASCOE will provide a Hospitality Room during Fort Wayne convention. Meetings will begin on Thursday, continue Friday. Group Lunch will be Friday at noon at JK O'Donnell's and not listed on Registration.

2:40 PM President Becky called the RASCOE of South Dakota Annual Meeting to order, welcoming guests from the Norwest Area.

ANNOUNCEMENTS: 'WILLING TO SERVE' if elected for President was Larry Olsen, no announcement made for Vice President and no announcement made for Secretary-Treasurer.

Minutes: The Minutes 2019 MEETING printed and mailed to all members. Motion made by Larry Olsen to approve the minutes as printed. Motion second by Sherry Ternes. Motion carried.

2019-20 and 20-2021 Treasurer Report: Copies provided for review. There being no questions. Motion by Cindy Mengenhauser to approve as printed, second Jerry King. Motion carried.

#### RECONGNIZE DEPARTED MEMBERS

Doris Stucky, Yankton	8-10-36 - 5-5-18
Marion Lauer, Miner	9-26-30 - 8-4-18
Ethel 'Violet' Rebelske, Day	1-25-33 - 11-10-18
Betty Salveson, Spink	12-3-33 – 12-1-18
Mary Lou Weiland, Davison	12-18-23 - 1-29-19
Esther Grant, Miner	1-26-34 – 3-1-19
Gerald Elson, ID CED & RASCOE Pres	7-14-43 – 10-1-18
Connie Laird, Hanson	12-6-30 - 10-26-19
E Clair Harris	8-15-29 – 2-23-19

### Deceased 2020-2021

Leon Edlund, Hutchinson 1/10/1944 – 3/2/2020 Gwenda Kolb, Edmunds 9/29/1940 - 5/28/2020 Lou Ellen Johnson, Hamlin 3/22/1921 – 6/12/2020 Ryan Wenz, STO 7/7/1953 - 8/18/2020 Matilda 'Tillie' M Endres, Brule-Buffalo 3/23/1935 – 8/23/2020 Mary Ellen Johnson, Hand-Hyde 12/13/1959 - 9/19/2020 Shirley Kuestermeyer, Beadle 9/23/1929 - 9/22/2020 Avis Elenz, Sanborn 4/18/1931 - 10/30/2020 Cheryl McMillan, Jones 2/25/1950 – 1/16/2021 Rosene Royce, Faulk 5/21/1935 - 3/6/2021

OLD BUSINESS: No old business presented.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

Membership Report: 19-20 160; 20-21 159; and 21-22 80 as of May 1, 2021

DUES – Approved state dues amount (\$5 members and \$5 associates)

1<sup>ST</sup> YEAR FREE MEMBERSHIP – approved to continue

2021 Lunch Schedule - no decision made to continue

March – Wessington Springs April – Redfield
May - Parkston June - Huron
July - Mina August - Mitchell

September – Sioux Falls October – Lake Andes or Miller

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS:**

Rhonda Deutsch nominated Larry Olsen for the office of President. Nomination was second by Jerry King. Cindy Mengenhauser moved nomination cease. Larry Olsen elected as President.

Larry Olsen nominated Lori Jones for the office of Vice President. Gene Vognild second the nomination and moved unanimous ballot cast. Lori Jones elected as Vice President.

Gene Vognild nominated Lynda Steichen. Nomination was second by Jim Iverson and moved for unanimous ballot cast. Lynda Steichen elected as Secretary-Treasurer.

Change bank signature card to remove Bonnie Nickelson, add Larry Olsen and Lori Jones.

## Retirements, welcome to RASCOE! (List may not be complete)

Barbara Poss	Brad Wilkens	Brenda Wicks	Carol Kindelspire
Carmen Jessop	Cynthia Walker	David Merchen	Dawn Brandt
Debra Schaefer	Faye Chambliss	Gordon Lee	Janelle Kolb
Jill Keller	JoAnn Hawkinson	Joan Russell	Kevin Steckelberg
LaDonna Hupp	Lisa Reuland	Lynn Chilson	Marilyn Casey
Mary Held	Monica Cooper	Owen Anderson	Patricia Thompson
Paulette Ruhd	Rhonda Pudwill-Munier		Roberta Parker
Rochelle Stout	Susan Sigman		

DOOR PRIZES selected or created by Becky Zirpel & Larry Olsen and purchased by RASCOE\*

Al Dangel	Bev Birkeland	Charlene Lolley	Chuck Land
Dianne Zentner	Gail Tennant	Jamie King	Jerry King
Jim Zirpel	Kerry Smith	Linda Weischedel	Lori Jones
Nancy Morrow	Rhonda Deutsch	Russ Birkeland	Sherry Ternes
Sue Wiley	Shirlee Vognild		

#### 2021 RAFFLE WINNERS

Total 2021 sales of \$1360, 2021 5 winners:

Al Dangel, Larry Peterson, Linda Wagner, Marcia Bunger, and Sharon Borgers Sales from 1996 to 2021 equal \$25169.92 with \$12872.36 paid out.

3:30 PM Motion by Lori Jones, second by Charlene Lolley to adjourn the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Respectfully submitted – Lynda Steichen, Secretary-Treasurer