

RASCOE of SOUTH DAKOTA

President Vice President Sec-Treasurer

Bonnie Nickelson Becky Zirpel Lynda Steichen
33490 181ST St 206 S Heritage Rd 23579 US Hwy 281
Highmore SD 57345 Brandon SD 57005 Woonsocket SD 57385

The 2017 Annual Meeting was called to order by Vice-President Becky Zirpel in the Harvest Room of the Ramkota Hotel and Watertown Event Center on Friday, April 21, 2017 after our 1:00 PM Luncheon.

Members and guests attending the convention were Vice-President Becky and Jim Zirpel, Secretary-Treasurer Lynda Steichen, Lanney Nelson, Daryl and Vilene Campbell, Larry Olson, Rich and Mary Ellen Rische, Linda Weischadel, Cathy Denison, Nancy Gall, Cindy Mengenhauser, Roger and Karen Anderson, Gene and Shirlee Vognild, Jim Iverson, Wilmer Deibert, Bobbi Ward, Bonita Sharp, Marilyn Van Liere, Mavis Poelstra, Jerry and Jamie King and Curt Sylte.

Attending their first RASCOE Annual Meeting were Vilene Campbell and Larry Olson. Welcome.

Deceased members: Howard Mettler, McPherson Co; Eileen Allibone, Tripp Co; Harlan Hammer, Roberts Co; Eileen Hofer, Sully Co; Florence V Sargent, Jerauld Co; Wayne Testerman, SED; Charles Johnson, STO; and Dorothy Weinberger, Sanborn. All names will be submitted for the NASCOE 2017 Convention Memorial Presentation in St. Charles, MO.

Printed copies of 2016 Annual Meeting minutes and FY 16-17 Treasurers were provided. 2016 Minutes are available on sdascoe.org website. A motion was made by Daryl Campbell and second by Cindy Mengenhauser to approved the minutes and treasurer report with no corrections. Motion carried.

Old Business: None

New Business: Jim Iverson, National RASCOE President, spoke about the RASCOE video available soon for use at gathering to acquaint members about RASCOE with the hope of increasing membership. Jim also spoke about the difficulty of finding persons in authority to speak with in WDC.

RASCOE of SD dues are \$5.00 for members and associates in addition to National Dues of \$25.00 for members and \$15.00 for associates. Motion by Gene Vognild and second by Wilmer Deibert to continue state dues at \$5.00. Motion carried.

Rich Rische motioned and Marilyn Van Liere second to continue to offer South Dakota First Free Membership in RASCOE.

Wes Daniels, NASCOE President and Jenae Prescott, Northwest Area Exec addressed RASCOE. Sonny Perdue is expected to be confirmed by the Senate as Secretary of Agriculture on Monday. Hiring Freeze instituted on January 23rd by President Trump was lifted for 2 days but has been reinstated with no end date. If no budget is approved there could be a government shutdown beginning April 30. All offices are understaffed and many retirements are expected.

Becky Zirpel, 2018 NASCOE/RASCOE Convention co-chair, discussed plans in the making for the convention. Fund raising has begun with the completed cookbook. Cookbooks are selling for \$15.00. Help will be needed at the information table during the 2017 Convention in St. Charles, MO. Motion was made by Mavis Poelstra and second by Nancy Gall to sponsor a \$1,000.00 donation to SDASCOE.

Nomination for the election of officers for FY 17-18. One year term of office begins May 1, 2017. Vice President Becky Zirpel called for nominations for the office of President. Daryl Campbell nominated Richard D Rische. Jim Iverson second the nomination. Roger Anderson moved that nomination cease and unanimous ballot be cast. Motion second by Wilmer Deibert. Motion carried to elect Richard D Rische as RASCOE of SD President.

Lynda Steichen, Secretary-Treasurer, requested nominations for the office of Vice President. Gene Vognild nominated Becky Zirpel. Roger Anderson moved that nomination cease and unanimous ballot be cast. Motion second by Wilmer Deibert. Motion carried to elect Becky Zirpel as RASCOE of SD Vice President.

Vice President Becky Zirpel called for nominations for the office of Secretary-Treasurer. Bobbi Ward nominated Lynda Steichen. The nomination was second by Marilyn Van Liere. Roger Anderson moved that nomination cease and unanimous ballot be cast. Motion second by Wilmer Deibert. Motion carried to elect Lynda Steichen as RASCOE of SD Secretary-Treasurer. Thank you Bonnie Nickelson for service RASCOE as President this past year.

Motion to adjourn was made by Larry Olson and second by Marilyn Van Liere. Meeting was adjourned at 2:00 PM to join SDASCOE for a Question and Answer session with Congresswoman Kristi Noem and representatives from Senator Rounds and Thune offices.

####

Door prizes of a book of stamps or a \$10 bill were purchased by RASCOE. Winners were Mavis Poelstra, Linda Weischadel, Gene Vognild, Lanney Nelson, Bobbi Ward and Marilyn Van Liere.

50/50 Raffle tickets sales reached \$1010. Five drawing winners were Lou Ellen Johnson, JoAnn Weisz, Cindy Geditz, Wes Kalkman and Russ Birkeland. Checks were mailed to the winners.

2016 Early Bird Drawing – Jake Gross, Jr. (Jake returned his \$25.00 check as a donation)

Free FY 17-18 Dues Drawing – Dorene Becker and Gene Vognild