There are significant changes in the method to submit Awards/Scholarship nominations. Attached are 4 documents that outline the new process. The period for the awards and/or scholarships is September 1 to August 31 so for the 2018 awards the period of consideration is September 1, 2016 to August 31, 2017.

Please review the 2017 Award and Scholarship Book (coming soon) for details on the awards and scholarship categories. It is important to note that SDASCOE does not offer scholarships at the State Level so any nominations from South Dakota will be forwarded to the Northwest Area for consideration.

# **DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARDS (DSA):**

The categories for DSA are as follows: Service to NASCOE Service to FSA-Agriculture Service to Community.

Nominations are available at www.NASCOE.org under Forms and Downloads. All nominations shall be electronically submitted NO LATER THAN JANUARY 1.

# The nomination form should furnish the following information:

• Name, address, email address, and telephone numbers of the nominee and nominator.

• Certification by an officer of the State Association that the nominee is serving under a permanent appointment and is in good standing.

- Award being recommended.
- Nomination information should be brief, factual and specific.

We have many deserving people in South Dakota for these awards. Please consider submitting one of your coworkers for this award. In the past, SDASCOE has had numerous Northwest Area and National Award winners.

# SCHOLARSHIPS:

As was mentioned earlier, SDASCOE does not offer scholarships at the State Level so in reviewing the 2018 Award and Scholarship Book please ignore the State Level information. However, that does not exclude South Dakota from having Northwest Area and National Scholarship winners.

All Scholarship applications must be submitted online at www.NASCOE.org no later than January 1. The awardee must complete at least one semester of schooling or return the scholarship.

#### The following are the scholarship categories:

Traditional Scholarship Open Continuing Education Scholarship Member Continuing Education Scholarship Continuing Education for Adult Children of Members Grandchildren Scholarship Associate Member Scholarship

Please review the 2018 Award and Scholarship Book for more details on the scholarships. In addition, there is a document attached that shows the online process for submitting scholarship applications.

# SICK LEAVE AWARDS:

The SED has always presented certificates for accumulated sick leave awards at the annual SDASCOE Convention for the 1000, 1500, 2000, 2500, 3000, and 3500 hours along with recognizing years of service.

At the NASCOE national Convention, plaques are awarded to permanent employees who are NASCOE members in good standing that accumulate 2500, 3000, and 3500 hours and above of unused sick leave.

In reviewing the 2017 Award and Scholarship Book, it states the award period ends August 31. We will get clarification as to the exact PP we are to use to determine the Sick Leave Awards.

#### FIRST TIMER AWARD:

This award is intended for those who are attending a NASCOE Convention for the first time. It is important to note the information contained in the 2017 Award and Scholarship Book is for the National NASCOE Convention. There are discussions about doing a First Timer Award for the Northwest Area Rally.

At the annual SDASCOE convention, we have always recognized first timers by asking them to stand and be recognized.

# SUMMARY:

As is stated above, the deadline for submitting DSA awards and scholarships is January 1. The nominations must be made online at <u>www.NASCOE.org</u>.

As stated above, the 2018 Scholarship handbook is currently unavailable. So, there may be some slight changes to the online process, as now it has been rolled out for a full scholarship year using the new process. I will provide the committee, and members with any updates/changes once I have been able to review the new handbook.

We have many deserving individuals, so please consider nominating one of your coworkers for a DSA award.

Thank you,

Courtney Hansen SDASCOE Awards & Scholarship Chair