

SOUTH DAKOTA RASCOE

President Vice President Secretary-Treasurer

Lanney Nelson Bonnie Nickelson Lynda Steichen

PO Box 322 33490 181ST St 23579 US Hwy 281

Centerville SD 57014 Highmore SD 57345 Woonsocket SD 57385

The 2016 meeting was called to order by President Lanney Nelson in Salon I and II of the Huron Convention Center on Friday, April 29th.

The meeting was opened by viewing a slide show of departed members complied by SDASCOE Vice President Joel Foster. All names were submitted to NASCOE for the Memorial Service held during the National Convention at Cedar Rapids, IA.

Deceased: Mildred C Larson, Deborah Brengle, Hilda Eng, Connie Boehmer, Charles Mulloy, Doris Schmidt, Helen Kennedy, Robert Maag and Dwaine Swift.

Answering Roll Call for the business meeting were:

President Lanney Nelson, Vice-President Bonnie Nickelson, Secretary-Treasurer Lynda Steichen, Bobbi Ward, JoAnn and Roy Weisz, Luella Longcur, Bev Birkeland, Leon Edlund, Dale Cundy, Duke Westerberg, Wilmer Deibert, Roger and Karen Anderson, Gene and Shirlee Vognild, Daryl Campbell, Allen Barton, Jim Iverson, Linda Weischedel, Nancy Gall, Dianna Shafer, Becky Zirpel, Rich Rische, Wayne Testerman, Kris Stevens, Kim Joy Nelson, and Susi Odden = 25 members and 3 guests. Also attending the convention were Betty and Ted Salveson, Linda Kastens, Randy Richards, Wendy Olson, Jerry and Jamie King.

2015 Annual Meeting minutes were approved as printed in the 2015 Summer Newsletter and available on the sdascoe.org website. Motion made by Rich Rische, second by Duke Westerberg.

The Treasurer's Report was reviewed. There being no questions a motion was made by Daryl Campbell, second by Leon Edlund to approve as printed.

Old Business: None

New business:

Becky Zirpel shared that SDASCOE is bidding for the 2018 NASCOE convention to be held in Sioux Falls. Becky Zirpel and Doug Hofer have agreed to co-chair the convention if South Dakota bid is successful.

RASCOE dues were raised for FY 16-17 to \$25.00 for members and \$15.00 for associates on the National level. Motion by Jim Iverson and second by Wilmer Deibert to continue South Dakota dues of \$5.00 for both members and associates.

A motion by Duke Westerberg and second by Wilmer Deibert was made to continue South Dakota 1st Year Free Membership.

Jim Iverson, National Vice President, reported on his recent visit to Washington DC. Progress is being made on recognizing RASCOE as THE retiree organization in 22PM. Watch activity on H.R.711 - Equal Treatment of Public Servants Act of 2015 for WEP relief.

Announcements: 2016 Luncheon Schedule

2016 NWA Rally May 12-14, San Diego CA

2016 33rd FISH AND FUN June 24-26, Pierre

2016 National Convention - August 2-6, Cedar Rapids IA

Election of officers for FY 16-17 was conducted by President Lanney Nelson. One-year term of office begins May 1, 2016.

Roger Anderson nominated Bonnie Nickelson for the office of President. Gene Vognild second the nominated, asked the nominations ceased with unanimous ballot be cast. Second by Duke Westerberg.

Lynda Steichen nominated Becky Zirpel for the office of Vice President. Daryl Campbell second the nomination. Rich Rische moved that nominations cease and unanimous ballot be cast. Motion was second by JoAnn Weisz.

Gene Vognild nominated Lynda Steichen for office of Secretary-Treasurer. Jim Iverson second the nomination. Alan Barton moved nominations cease unanimous ballot be cast. Daryl Campbell second the motion.

Motion to adjourn was made by Dale Cundy, second by Jim Iverson.

###

Door prizes were donated by Dianna Shafer.

50/50 Raffle Drawing Winners: Gross \$1050 - 5\$100 winners = \$550 Profit Thank you for supporting.

Cindy Geditz, Kathy Coleman, Laurie Pfeifle, Mary White and Maureen Rutten

Door Prize questions:

- 1. South Dakota's State motto is "Under God the People Rule".
- Rumor has it that the tradition of spreading saw dust on the floors of bars and saloons started in Deadwood.
- Clark is the Potato Capital of South Dakota. It is also the home of a Mashed Potato Wrestling contest.
- 4. Belle Fourche is the geographical center of the United States.
- 5. Bowdle is known for the tallest water tower in South Dakota.
- 6. South Dakota adopted the honey bee as the state insect in 1978
- 7. Alternate question: Woonsocket is known as the Town with the Beautiful Lake.

2015 Early Bird Drawing – Diane Dangel

Free FY 16-17 Dues Drawing – Judith VandenBerg and Omar Halvorson